fbpx

What time is the Blood Moon total lunar eclipse on Nov. 8?

The last total lunar eclipse until 2025 will turn the moon blood-red on Tuesday, November 8th

The eclipse, dubbed the Beaver Blood Moon lunar eclipse since it occurs during November’s Full Beaver Moon, will be visible across North America, the Pacific, Australia and Asia.

During the eclipse, the full moon will pass through Earth’s shadow as it moves behind our planet with respect to the sun, giving it a spectacular bloody color in the process.

Tuesday’s “blood moon” eclipse will begin at 3:02 a.m. EST when the moon begins to enter the outermost region of Earth’s shadow. While this marks the official beginning of the lunar eclipse, it can be hard to see as the Earth’s penumbral shadow is very slight.

Talk of Titusville will always be free to access.
If you love what we’re doing, please consider becoming a monthly Supporter HERE.

“The moon begins to dim, but the effect is quite subtle,” NASA wrote in an eclipse timeline.

More striking will be the partial eclipse phase, which will begin at 4:09 a.m. EST (0909 GMT) and last just over an hour. This is when the moon enters the Earth’s umbra, or darker portion of the Earth’s shadow. If you didn’t notice the penumbral eclipse, you should be able to see this with your unaided eye.

“To the naked eye, as the moon moves into the umbra, it looks like a bite is being taken out of the lunar disk,” NASA wrote in its guide.

Blood moon lunar eclipse timeline for Nov. 8,

The real show begins at totality, when the entire moon enters the umbra. On Nov. 8, this will occur at 5:17 a.m. EST (1017 GMT) and will last about 85 minutes, ending at 6:42 a.m. EST (1142 GMT),  according to NASA.

“The moon will turn a coppery-red. Try binoculars or a telescope for a better view,” NASA wrote. “If you want to take a photo, use a camera on a tripod with exposures of at least several seconds.

Once the total phase of the lunar eclipse ends, it will return a partial phase in a reverse of the what we saw at the beginning of the eclipse. The partial phase will end at 7:49 a.m. EST (4:49 a.m. PST, 1249 GMT), but by this time the moon will have set for Eastern time zone observers.

For those in locations where the moon is still visible, the final penumbral phase will last until 8:50 a.m. EST (5:50 a.m. PST, 1350 GMT).

Post Author

Leave a Reply